17 days to add a new drive?

Currently reading
17 days to add a new drive?

NAS
DS720+
Operating system
  1. macOS
Hi!

I'm still new to synology, but I just recently added a second drive (Where first I had only 1), and added it to increase my storage pool. Now it's telling me it's "adding drives" and it will take 22 days to do so. Did I do something wrong? Or is it dividing all the files across both drives so that it looks like 1 drive even though it's mixed over 2 drives?

That does not sound normal. Adding another 16TB on top of 16TB in a RAID1/SHR-1 setup should normally rebuild and complete in 24-36 hrs. In a RAID0/JBOD setup even faster…

agree. Is the 720+ still under warranty?
Yes, it's about 1-2 months old. You really think something is wrong with it?

It seems like the time has updated to a more reasonable 1 day 15 hours.
1657909950416.png

It will be fine. Just give it a few days time and the counter will adjust itself.
What is it doing exactly? Will I see a 32tb volume at the end of it? Does it fill up both drives equally to postpone having one drive filled up completely as long nas possible? That would seem like the most likely to me as a full drive works slower than an empty-er drive, right?

What is it doing exactly? Will I see a 32tb volume at the end of it? Does it fill up both drives equally to postpone having one drive filled up completely as long nas possible? That would seem like the most likely to me as a full drive works slower than an empty-er drive, right?
Depends on your initial raid configuration and what you choose to do.

So if you are running with shr setup you will end up with same storage space but will have one drive redundancy in case if any of the drives dies.

Depends on your initial raid configuration and what you choose to do.

So if you are running with shr setup you will end up with same storage space but will have one drive redundancy in case if any of the drives dies.