DS 718+, 2x-DS 720+
Router
  1. RT2600ac
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Question on upcoming 7.2 feature that I have no background on...
Link Aggregation....

I have 1 computer (Supermicro Server at W7-64) that has 2x GB ethernet ports... Let's assume 1 IP is: 192.168.1.101 Other is not yet configured...
My Switch is Un-managed.....
Experimental 720+ Nas is IP 192.168.1.156 and only 1 GB Connection is configured... Other is not yet configured....
All 4 computers, (only 1 with 2x GB ports) connect via un-managed Switch... 2 of 3 NAS's connect to un-managed swtich, one NAS has one GB Connection to Router (2600)
No VLAN in use.... Everybody is on Same Subnet...

With Upcoming 7.2 on NAS, can the connection to the one computer that does have 2x GB ports, conected to un-managed swtich, if it is possible to link aggregation at ~2GB connection to the 720+ with 7.2 on it...... If both GB ports on each are connected to Un-Managed Switch?

IF SO, Then: How does all the other computers with only 1GB connection still connect to the 720+ without Link Aggregation? As they do now? Is Link Aggregation an ALL or Nothing Connection? or can it be shared with just one NAS?
And... On Supermicro W7-64..... Can it still connect to other NAS's without Link Aggregation?

I've looked off and on about this for months.... and cannot make sense on how this can happen.....

So I ask here....

Do you have an issue with the '.' key on your keyboard? It seems to be getting stuck.

Which devices are you considering using LAG: just the DS720+; the NAS and the Supermicro Server? And what new LAG feature is there in DSM 7.2, hasn't this been around for a long time in DSM?