DS918+
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Two separate items below...
---
First - new Synology user here. My first backup using AB4B failed on a Win10 client. Multiple volumes being backed up from a single machine. Two internal drives and three usb connected drives. Error was 23. Bad block on a particular drive. Fixing that.

1) is the backup that failed usable for all the other drives that were backed up prior to the fail? Trying to use the Restore Portal it appears that none of the drives is now able to be seen in the Restore Portal. Doesn't really make sense to me based on previous experience with other backup software tools but I am new to AB4B.

2) once the error 23 is cleared from the offending drive, if the task is started again will AB4B pick up where it left off or will the entire backup process start again? This is the initial backup of this machine.

3) if the process starts again what do I do with the failed back up? Will it be removed automatically as part of the retention policy or should I delete it manually?
---
Second - other item related to backups completed successfully of other client machines...

Using a DS918+ with 4 6GB Seagate IW drives. I installed the Active Backup Agent on two clients. Created tasks in Active Backup for both. My questions is that the Active Backup directory name is not the same as the task name for the client. The directory includes the text "default" in it while the task does not. I would have thought the directory would reflect either the client naming or the task or some combination of both. Why is it that way and did I do something wrong here? Perhaps thats the default behavior but based on my research and reading that is not the case. Appreciate any thoughts here... nube making my way thru it.

task name - opti745-fmbckup

directory name - PC-OPTI745-W10-meuser-Default
---
Appreciate some insight and thanks for looking.

More info on similar situations here: