NAS
720+
Router
  1. RT6600ax
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
I'm just getting started using Active Backup for Business (ABB) and I'm confused if I'm protected against Ransomeware. Here's my setup (gonna be brief for simplicity)

I have a server (windows 2016), synology A and synology B.
I have synology A setup with ABB getting daily backups from the server. This is working well, no problems.

I want to Ransomeware protect these backups using synology B. I installed Snapshot Replication on both and on synology A, I setup a replication task. Under Schedule, I set it to run Daily at 3AM and checked Immutable snapshots (for testing I set the Proectection Period to 1 day). I didn't do anything under Snapshots.

I run this task and a Read Only folder is created on synology B.

Q: Is this folder on synology B immutable? I did try and delete one of the subfolders and got a message "...this user account has not been assigned proper privileges to perform this action."

When I go back to synology A and click on Snapshots, the ABB folder has "Replicated" next to it. When I look at the Snapshot List, I see 1 entry, but the immutable snapshots column is blank.

Any advice or insight would be great.
Thanks,
Kevin

By default, SR will work with a remote read-only replica until the replication is terminated. Snaps also by default are read-only so no matter how many of them you have those will be read-only, so ransomware-safe. The issue is live data when backed up, or in this case replicated has been compromised. That state will be part of the replica version, but again, this will not "spill" over to older versions.

In short, the process in your case is sound.

Thanks for the reply.

I'm still trying to wrap my head around Retention vs Protection Period.

Let's say I want to set the Retention period to match my ABB retention:
60 days, 26 weeks, 12 months, 3 years