After improper shutdown, NAS writing constantly 24 hours +

Currently reading
After improper shutdown, NAS writing constantly 24 hours +

NAS
DS923+
Operating system
  1. Windows
2 days ago, when I shut down my NAS DS923+ using the power button, I noticed that it appeared to shut down immediately like a power loss rather than the normal shutdown which usually takes a minute. The next day, when I rebooted it, it sent me an email saying that it had experienced an improper shutdown.

Ever since, the thing has been writing non-stop at approx 500kb/s. This has been going on 24 hours. I've never seen this behavior before. I assume it is fixing something but I do not know what. It has 4 16tb drives which all are healthy, 2 2tb SSDs for caching. the 4 HDDs are set up as RAID 10. I have a lot of PCs backed up here along with some photos and similar stuff. This is my first NAS set up in 4/23 so I am a noob.

Any ideas?

So I shut the NAS down about an hour ago (properly this time.) I waited about 5 minutes and then rebooted it. It came back up, made a little bit of ordinary noise... and now it is quiet as a mouse. In fact it just went to sleep...

I have no idea why it did what it did for the last 24 hours, but it appears to be fine now.

Upvote 0
Yes I believe that is what happened... I think I must have held it too long causing an immediate improper shutdown.

Upvote 0
Yes I believe that is what happened... I think I must have held it too long causing an immediate improper shutdown.
sounds like it and it was checking data when it came back up. Happened to me once. A quick push , a beep and then no lights after 5 mins or so is the right way, Sounds like you got it figured out.

Upvote 0
I spoke too soon. After updating my DSM software earlier today, everything still appeared to be fine. However about 1/2 hour ago, it started doing it again.

This time I went into the task manager and figured out that 2 of the services were doing it...