backup google photos on Synology

Currently reading
backup google photos on Synology

g'day - I'm very new to synology - in fact have just ordered the nas but haven't received it yet..... have been reading about various things though in preparation and there's one thing I want to do that I haven't been able to find any answers about

Basically - google Photos is and will always be my master copy of photos and videos - we have many differnet devices - all the family phones, cameras and other things feeding to google - and we use the sharing features heavily.

What I want on top of that is to have a live backup on the NAS - ie if a photo gets added to google photos, it appears on the nas within about 1/2 hour after that with no human intervention. It sounds simple enough, but I can't find anything on the net about doing it - I find lots of people talking about doing a once off dump from google, but none talking about a set-it-and-forget-it ongoing sync.

I know I can do it by just running the google drive/backup and sync app on one of my PCs - setting the photos to be backed up and pointing at the NAS as the location - but that seems a kludge and adds dependencies on another machine. is there any way of doing it directly from the NAS?

Thanks,
Darren

Cloud sync should be able to do the sync.
Remember, a sync is not a backup, if you mess up the original on google drive; your synced copy is messed up as well within half an hour.

I can't find any way to do it using cloud sync - cloud sync will sync _google drive_ - but photos and google drive have been separated for some time

I want to download my google photos with google take out then backup to the synology, then after deleting all my photos from google photos I want to backup my phone photos to the Synology each time I´m home, how can I do that? Using what features?