Can I format my NAS to create an iMovie library?

Currently reading
Can I format my NAS to create an iMovie library?

NAS
DS218play
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
This question is out of left field but I got a great response to a question last time last time so here goes....I have a Sony camcorder and i want to be able to download and backup videos to my NAS (DS218play). The Sony software (32 bit) no longer works with my Mac Catalina (only like 64 bit software) so I have downloaded with the inbuilt iMovie to a new library on my MacBook Pro. However when I try to create a new library on the NAS, iMovie will not let me do so as the format is not APFS (and Apple does not recommend storing a library on a network device .....don't know why!).

I am not tech savvy enough to know if I can partition the drive and have part as APFS, or whether there is some other fix. Or is there any other program that would allow me to download the video files from the camera directly to the NAS?

Thanks for any help.

Rick

In your case you can use this method. Keep in mind this is not supported and use it at your own risk! (still saying this I use this method for my Apple Photos library and I have it stored on my NAS for years with 0 problem).

What you wanna do on your Mac is make a HFS+ sparse bundle image that you will then copy over to your NAS and mount it on your Mac. After that you can use that volume image as a target for your iMovie library.

01. Open up Disk utility and go to File > New image > Blank image and configure it like its shown. Keep in mind that the Format and Image Format drop down menus are as they are in the picture. Reason why thy are not APFS is that Mojave and Catallina have problems with mounting APFS image from a NAS using that format. HFS+ (MacOS Extended will work just fine)
Screenshot 2020-05-04 at 10.23.56.png