Currently reading
Can't install DSM 7 because of Webalizer

NAS
DS218+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
I know this is an old issue but I am a real newbie and just plucked up the courage to update to DSM7 from 6 BUT ... I stall at the first hurdle as I am being told I have to uninstall Webalizer, however it does not appear in the list of 'Intsalled' or 'All packages' - very odd. Although it does appear in the 'Main Menu' but of course this only allows you to 'Add to Destop' nothing else. Can anyone help me as I don't even know how to get a terminal (or something) running so I can use the CLI to manually uninstall? Thank you

Welcome

via SSH try the following:

synopkg list - to get the list of packages. See if Webalizer is on the list. If it is:
synopkg stop Webalizer
synopkg uninstall Webalizer

If you get into issues with permissions, try and run the commands as root by elevating your default account with sudo -i.

Be careful what you are trying. Responsibility is 100% on your end.

Thank you for the guidance. However when I say Newbie I really mean it. SSH ?? I have Google how to start this using powershell. I have got around the issue of refuing connections (SSH was not enabled in the terminal section of config) However when I now try to connect it just sits there. No refusal but nothing else. I just have a flashing cursor and the only way I can get back control is to use ctrl+break. Help!

For someone like me this is really disappointing. I would have hoped there was an easier way to stop and remove Webalizer

Thank you

I have and this is where it just hangs. I have attached 3 files. Screen 1 is using my login credentials (I am an admin) then trying with admin and finally when I turn off the SSH service on the DSM to check it is making the trip.
SSH screen 1.jpg
SSH screen 2.jpg
SSH screen 3.jpg