Chromecast not available as player in Video Station (on PC)

Currently reading
Chromecast not available as player in Video Station (on PC)

NAS
DS418
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Last edited:
Hi

I'm new to Synology and Video Station so forgive me if this is a foolish question.

In Video Station (launched from DSM) i cannot see my chromecast as a player option. I can, however, see my WDTVLive box, but not the chromecast. (I can see the chromecast and WDTVLive in the Android app DS Video as player options)

I've setup the NAS with all my files in specific user defined shared folders (not the standard video folder) and as far i can tell all the permissions are correct. I am using the same user in both the DSM on the PC and the Android app.

Movies and TV Shows are indexed and show up in Video Station and play in the browser

My questions? How to enable chromecast as a player option in Video Station on the PC.

Thanks

NAS
DS418
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Further update . . .

I have discovered "Device List" in Media Server. AS you probably know, all devices the NAS finds show up there. But my Chromecast IP does not.. Clicking "Reset" does not discover the chromecast.

FYI NAS is DS418, Chromecast is na2-6a5 (Second edition i beleive). Accoring to Compatibility List | Synology Inc. it should be compatible

Still looking for an answer please

NAS
DS418
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Update . . .

I contacted Synology technical departmnent. Their response was the following when asked why casting via Video Station to Chromecast doesnt work

"It is a security feature of the Chromecast operating system that blocks the connection."

I find this hard to beleive since Synology advertises compatibility.

Do others have similar experiences?

Thanks

www.adrianearnshaw.com
NAS
1819+
Router
  1. RT2600ac
  2. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. Windows