Continue with single NAS setup or add another ?

Currently reading
Continue with single NAS setup or add another ?

NAS
DS920+
Operating system
  1. macOS
  2. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Dears,

At last, I managed to build a home LAN. The LAN includes a NAS device and two IP cameras as of now.

I am in the middle of cameras setup and want to know if the current setup will function well or it is better to add another NAS device.

Inventory :
1. POE Switch of 16 ports
2. NAS device of 3 disks in an SHR volume
3. IP Cameras

Can I user the NAS for both camera recording and regular file/media/docker services or it is adviced to separate these two functions into two NAS devices ? I already found in the forum that it is adviced not to mix recording and other functions on a NAS.

I am no expert, if I were in this situation I would ask too. BUT: I think most file serving (nas) duty is super low power. Camera duty would be more intensive I would have to think. If buying another nas is not an option, I think maybe buying a cctv rated hdd as your 4th drive slot, making it its own volume and using that volume as your camera drive would work? no? (just voicing my amateur opinion to see what happens is all)

Upvote 0
Well. I have no idea as of now of the footage since I did not complete setting up the cameras (planned to install 4 cameras). But in near time there will be footage going through this LAN and God knows what will it be like !

Upvote 0
Well. I have no idea as of now of the footage since I did not complete setting up the cameras (planned to install 4 cameras). But in near time there will be footage going through this LAN and God knows what will it be like !