Currently reading
Demo NAS problem

NAS
DS413
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
I inherited a NAS from my sister-in-law which we discovered in the attic of her house covered in dust. It had been running quietly in the background for 5 years after the death of her husband never being accessed.

Having cleaned it up, reformatted it etc (as a complete beginner never having had a NAS before). I have it working now as a local storage device.

However, I was unable to register it with Synology (passwords long lost/forgotten), and on querying it I discovered that the device had apparently been issued for a review purposes and was never intended to be available for "normal" public use.

Is there any way I can get it to work by allowing internet access for my family so I can use it as a store for all our photos, home videos etc?

However, I was unable to register it with Synology
Well, can you register it using your own public Synology Account "account"? If the NAS is already registered with Synology (QC or DDNS) you will get a warning ofc. Considering that you have reformated all, if the device is still "registered" with Syno, you will have to ask them for help to unregister it from the previous Syno Account so that you can register the serial number with yours.

After that, you should be able to configure it normally.

Is this the problem you are currently having?

Hi, welcome to the forum.

From what you say you've got the NAS to a point where it's rebuilt and working as you want it. But you can't associate it with a/your Synology account and so any features that rely on that don't work?

I'm trying to think of which features this would affect: probably using QuickConnect, Synology DDNS service, Support, purchasing anything that is associated to the NAS via the account (exFAT package, erm...?).