Does moving a shared folder shutdown services?

Currently reading
Does moving a shared folder shutdown services?

2
0
NAS
DS218+, DS920+
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. macOS
  3. Windows
  4. other
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I'm planning on moving a shared folder to a new volume. The easiest way appears to be to go to Control Panel - > Shared Folders, select the folder and change the volume.

However when I do this I get the following warning:
"All services will be stopped during the operation, and will resume after the operation is completed".

Really, basically, this will shutdown the NAS? I can't do that, as users and automatic operations use other shared folders 24x7.

Is this what will really happen?
There's no mention of this in the online manual that I found.

This is DSM-6.2.4

Thanks.
 
Solution
No shutdown is to be expected.
but services may have files open on the shared folder and these will obviously stop. Users cannot read/write during the operation.
I never noticed that the system is not responsive or disfunctional during a move, but no guarantee…
549
176
NAS
DS620slim, DS415+
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. macOS
  3. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Last edited:
No shutdown is to be expected.
but services may have files open on the shared folder and these will obviously stop. Users cannot read/write during the operation.
I never noticed that the system is not responsive or disfunctional during a move, but no guarantee…
 
Upvote 1
Solution
2
0
NAS
DS218+, DS920+
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. macOS
  3. Windows
  4. other
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I had a chance to grab a spare Synology box and test this and you are correct, the other filesystems were fine during the move.

Also, I'd heard some complaints that these moves were slow, but I was able to get close to 100MB/s during the move, which is about the best I'd expect from the old drives I was using for the test.

Thanks!
 
Upvote 0

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Similar threads

Thank you for the confirmation...... Just another small bit of key information that is missing from all...
Replies
2
Views
614
  • Question
Only thing that helped was rejoining (remove & join). Now they are all back
Replies
4
Views
677
The NAs did not respond at all. But after some searching we found a lot of instances where the button...
Replies
2
Views
583
This setup only applies to the writeback cache mode. Writethrough and writearound modes store no cache...
Replies
37
Views
7,112
Glad the problem is over! You may also send a test message in the control panel of your partner Synology...
Replies
5
Views
2,396
As time goes on I learn more and more. I was recently watching a video on daata scrubbing. In of which it...
Replies
0
Views
129
  • Question
I am having similar issues with /photos, and with at least two other shared folders - and Windows 10. I am...
Replies
4
Views
2,131

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Top