Question Does xTeVe (on Synology via docker) still work with Plex?

Currently reading
Question Does xTeVe (on Synology via docker) still work with Plex?

NAS
DS918+
Router
  1. RT2600ac
  2. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Hi all, ive been playing with Docker on my 918+ recently and came across xTeVe. I've installed it and can run it using @Rusty's guide here.

2 questions:

Does Plex still let me use xTeVe?

Screenshot 2020-07-12 at 20.57.51.png

Not sure why it is not adding? As xTeVe is at that address on my LAN and the container is running, I can access the GUI...but I haven't set it up the M3U stuff yet.

2. I can find plenty of free M3U URL's to use, but can't find the XMLTV files? Would it be better to use URL's to live sites or files? Can anyone suggest either a good free or cheap service? im new to this and google searching is a bit overwhelming as there's just so much! lol.

Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks.

It works just fine.

Screenshot 2020-07-12 at 23.02.53.png

You will need a completly functional xteve setup (channels and EGP) before you can map it to the Plex. I am running my own EGP via WebGrabPlus (hosted as well via Docker) and using its xml for you xteve EGP source. Can't suggest any free channels atm, considering that I use paid versions (its super stable and they work).

hi @Rusty, thanks for the info. I think I will use a paid IPTV source in that instance, may as well do this properly.

Im in the middle of installing WeGrabPlus, but notice it hasn't been assigned a port. Do you know where to find a noddy guide in how to set it up?

I have xteve running and use it with Plex and tivimate.

I'll say this though, the Plex live TV function is janky at best, treat it more like a hobby rather than a reliable feature.

You'll probably also want an epg data source too. I use schedulesdirect.

There is docker build by dnsforge for xteve with schedulesdirect support built in. Highly recommended.