DS218+ with heavy Plex use - Upgrade to DSM 7.0.1 - or stay on 6.2.4

NAS
DS218+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Hi all,

I am a newbie Synology users (6 months) or so, it's being used to backup Desktop/laptop data (using Drive), and to host all our videos, which we used multiple times a day via Plex specially for our kids. I've upgraded RAM to 4GB, but everything else is stock, no dongles, add-ons, etc... using 2x6TB WD Red Plus.

I then started Photo sharing, and Moments and Photo stations both SUCK and I am interested if the new Photos app work better, needing DSM 7.0

Questions:
- Any issues with DS218+ upgrade to DSM 7.0
- Has Plex issues all been resolved for DSM 7.0? If not, I will hold off
- Is Photo app much improved over Moments?
- Any other thoughts, pros/cons of upgrade, staying on 6.2

Thanks

I have a DS218+ and recently went to 7.0, no issues upgrading ecept if you run Zero Tier you have to now use Docker.

No regrets overall. I prefer the new Photo app over the old... but there are many who do not.
As to Plex I cannot say as I do not run it sorry.

Last edited:
I've updated to DSM 7 on all my NAS.

I'm running Plex pre- and post-migration and not noticed any issues. I recommend you follow @Rusty's guide here:

I'm not going to go through Synology Photos in too much detail as there's lots on this here and at the other place also see:

It's best to think of Synology Photos as Moments v2 (or v1.5) and there's still no map view. If you don't like the DSM 6 offers then you aren't losing out by moving to DSM 7 because you'll either hate, love, or accept Photos.