DS220+ just getting started. Confused about workgroup and device accidentally created

Currently reading
DS220+ just getting started. Confused about workgroup and device accidentally created

NAS
DS220+
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. Windows
I'm just getting started with the DS220+. Still experimenting with a temporary small hard drive while some file consolidation is being on other drives to prepare to move to the drives destined for the DS220+, so if a factory reset is needed it won't be the end of the world.

My LAN includes Windows 10 computers, Ubuntu, old Linksys NAS200, now the Synology, and some other devices that probably aren't on a workgroup. My practice has been to call the workgroup "LAN". The Ubuntu machine is set up to be the network master browser - in part because it's the most reliable, and unaffected by physical and connectivity changes of which there have been many over the past year due to moves. Ubuntu, NAS200, Synology are all static IP (assigned by Sonicwall), and all have entries in the Windows hosts file.

When I first started setting up the DS220+, I didn't find the Workgroup setting (Control Panel | File Services | SMB), so I made what looks like a mistake by using Control Panel | Domain/LDAP and joining Domain, plus setting up the domain as the workgroup=LAN, and also domain Netbios name=LAN. At least that's roughly what I thought I did. Once I started seeing the problem I turned off joining a Domain and the options became unavailable. Then I found the workgroup setting and made it LAN.

The problem is that I'm seeing a device called "LAN" when I browse the network. I can see it from Windows 10 machines, and also from the Ubuntu machine. The device LAN is not real - I can't ping it. But it shows up with nbtstat -a as four devices associated with the three Synology devices in the list. And it's in the network neighborhood while the Synology is on (or not on but not refreshed).