Status
Not open for further replies.
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Hi all!

I just received my ds1621+ and going to start from scratch, so no other synology settings to import etc. I use it at this point only a file server, with smb, nfs and also time machine. Maybe moments/photos.
How reliable is dsm7? Should I go with it or stick with dsm6?
Give me your opinions! 😀

Have fun ... it's a great machine. I have been running mine for a few months now ... I would stick with DSM 6.23. I would avoid NFS and make sure AFP is enabled since you're planning on using it for a Time Machine. I would make sure it is set to SHR for disk management.

Thx for suggestion! Yes, I agree, it's great little machine! Why avoid NFS? I'm going to use it with VMware ESXi and Proxmox trough NFS.
I also plan to use Time Machine via smb only, so no need for AFP...

How reliable is dsm7? Should I go with it or stick with dsm6?
Its ok for now, but I would wait for a bit more. If Syno will stick to its schedule, we should be getting a new beta version now in February. After that, 2 more months we might see 1st RC coming out. So it's still a way off.

Its ok for now, but I would wait for a bit more. If Syno will stick to its schedule, we should be getting a new beta version now in February. After that, 2 more months we might see 1st RC coming out. So it's still a way off.
Ok. I think I wait at this time to next beta and think it again then.

I don't see the urgency to "upgrade" unless there is a must-have feature. Truth be told, you may be better served waiting for v7.1 as even v7.0 is apt to be buggy (the beta users are a very small subset of all users), if history repeats.

SMB doesn't support the same filenames that AFP does ... also my reading of blogs is that NFS is not as robust as SMB.