Question Have you ever tried randomly viewing the Synology DDNS names?

Currently reading
Question Have you ever tried randomly viewing the Synology DDNS names?

Geeked

NAS Hosted
Subscriber
nashosted.com
NAS
DS918+, DS218+(2), RS820+
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. macOS
  3. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
A while back when I was assigning my NAS a DDNS, the names I was choosing were all taken. So naturally I pop them into the browser xxxxxx.synology.me. I was shocked to see so many insecure plex and emby installs. And some even had their port 5000 open! I guess I shouldn’t be that surprised.

Lucky me my DDNS name (surname) was still available.
But it's horrible shocking indeed how many people have their network stuff wide open.
I'm not a it expert nor is it my income source but over the years self-taught a lot.
One thing i always keep in mind is to shut the door.
Have to admit as i just started a webserver which is the only thing open from outside my network.
Even then it's auto ported to HTTPS and protected as advised for DDOS/DOS/spamers/firewall rules ect ect.
Don't know what else i can do to protect.
Everything else i always do with VPN to connect to my home network.

Lucky me my DDNS name (surname) was still available.
But it's horrible shocking indeed how many people have their network stuff wide open.
I'm not a it expert nor is it my income source but over the years self-taught a lot.
One thing i always keep in mind is to shut the door.
Have to admit as i just started a webserver which is the only thing open from outside my network.
Even then it's auto ported to HTTPS and protected as advised for DDOS/DOS/spamers/firewall rules ect ect.
Everything else i always do with VPN to connect to my home network.
That’s best practice really.

Last edited:
Use DSM's firewall as well as the Internet router's firewall.

You can add rules to the DSM firewall that restrict the source locations of requests, such as: