Question How to migrate to smaller SSD?

Currently reading
Question How to migrate to smaller SSD?

7
1
NAS
1513+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Hello!
I have 1513+ with 20gb used space in 2tb hdd used as system drive. I want to replace system hdd to ssd with 128gb capasity.
I tried to clone hdd to ssd with acronis, paragon but they all said that i need 2tb ssd and dont want to resize large hdd partition.

Can you help me to understand how to do that without total resintall of anything?
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,486
747
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Hello!
I have 1513+ with 20gb used space in 2tb hdd used as system drive. I want to replace system hdd to ssd with 128gb capasity.
I tried to clone hdd to ssd with acronis, paragon but they all said that i need 2tb ssd and dont want to resize large hdd partition.

Can you help me to understand how to do that without total resintall of anything?
What Acronis tool did you use? Using True Image it should work (I have used it in the past, but not for DSM): Acronis True Image: how to clone a disk | Knowledge Base
 
7
1
NAS
1513+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Thank you for suggetion but all Acronis/Paragon softwares said that then cannont shrink large 1.8tb mail hdd partition and place to to 120gb ssd and asked me to exclude files from main hdd partition but where's nothing to exclude. I tried ATI, ADD, Paragon PM

I think that problem is that used softwares can't resize ext4 in windows. May be try any boot iso like gparted?
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,486
747
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Thank you for suggetion but all Acronis/Paragon softwares said that then cannont shrink large 1.8tb mail hdd partition and place to to 120gb ssd and asked me to exclude files from main hdd partition but where's nothing to exclude. I tried ATI, ADD, Paragon PM

I think that problem is that used softwares can't resize ext4 in windows. May be try any boot iso like gparted?
So not sure I get this. Have you actually tried to run this via True Image or not? By this I mean booting into true image and connecting there two drives in questions. Really can’t see a reason for this not to work considering that EXT4 is a legitimate file format.
 
7
1
NAS
1513+
Operating system
  1. Windows
I tried to use Acronis TI 2019 and DD 12 boot isos and they said same - not enough space on destination disk.
Also tried GParted boot iso and it also cant resize partition. I think it's because this partition has "linux-raid" fs (GParted showed that) and not ext4 as i thought.
So in this situation there's no other way to clone to smaller ssd?
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,486
747
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
I tried to use Acronis TI 2019 and DD 12 boot isos and they said same - not enough space on destination disk.
Also tried GParted boot iso and it also cant resize partition. I think it's because this partition has "linux-raid" fs (GParted showed that) and not ext4 as i thought.
So in this situation there's no other way to clone to smaller ssd?
I really cant say when it comes to DSM. Never tried it.
 
7
1
NAS
1513+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Ok
Then may be there are some magic commands via ssh that can help to resize partition?
 
I have 1513+ with 20gb used space in 2tb hdd used as system drive.
You are aware that all drives are "sytem drives", aren't you? Or do you mean system drive as in "this is the volume where I install my packages and keep their data"? if you mean the later one, the worst thing that can happen is that the DSM will boot, but installed packages won't be available.

Maybe the simplest solution would be to move the packages to other volumes and then simply replace the harddisk? Not sure how reliable it is, but moving packges usual does a solid job. @Everyone: how is your experience with this?

Next likely solution:
If the disk is a standalone disk (not part of a raid/SHR volume), you will need to make sure that the drive does have less that 100gb on its volume. This should allow you to a) shrink the ext4 filesystem, b) the partion , c) the logical volume, d) the logical volume group and finaly d) the persitant volume. I don't know the exaxt required commands, but this might give you an idea: How to Extend/Reduce LVM's (Logical Volume Management) in Linux - Part II

Word of warning: this one is RISKY and can lead to total DATA LOSS of the volume!
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,486
747
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
how is your experience with this?
I did this a while back while swapping from one SSD array to the next. Moved all the shared folders to the new volume, turned off the NAS, pulled out the old ones, and booted again.

DSM said well I need to fix a few things, click-click, done, and the package center said it needed to repair some apps, click, done.

The only "downside" to this was that now I have volume2 as my main volume and not volume1 but I mean, who cares if it works.
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,486
747
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
In summary: not the most elagant, but an almost pain free solution?
The downtime was like in minutes. Ofc, if you have a slot or two free. It was elegant considering there was no "hacking" to make it happen, the fact is that the outcome is a different volume "name" but I mean, come on, right?
 
7
1
NAS
1513+
Operating system
  1. Windows
if you mean the later one,
Yes i mean this.

To all:
Do you mean that i need to do this?
1. to save configuration via DSM control panel
2. install DSM on new SSD
3. Start NAS from old 2tb HDD
4. Hot-plug SSD with the system
5. Copy all folders from HDD to SSD
6. Boot from SSD?
 
I assumed you have more volumes than 1. Just move the packages (using the package manager!) to the volume on the other drive. This will work because DSM knowns where the packages are and where they will move to.

Like I wrote: the system itself is on EVERY drive - just packges and their persistet data are not.
Synology will install the sytem on each initialized drive - always! There is no way arround that.

Though, I am not sure if your approach does work the same way, as in step 5, you loosly throw files on the other drive that are not registered in DSM of the ssd. Maybee it works, maybe it does not. I personaly would not do it like that...
 
7
1
NAS
1513+
Operating system
  1. Windows
So i solve my problem in this way
I installed new SSD as new separate pool with SHR fs
As i understood DSM copy her files on all disks installed in NAS
Next i change location of shared folders
Next via ssh i moved packages from /volume1/@appstore to new volume (manual in the internet easily can be found - move Synology packages from one volume to another).
Turn off NAS
Remove old HDD, install SSD in 1st slot, Run
Repair some packages
and that's all :love:

And right now i see that shrink partition size was bad idea more easy for me was that way i described above.

Thanks all for suggestions and help
 
Glad that it worked that way!

True, your original idea to shrink the partition would have been very painful... time consuming and high likely error prone. At the end all working solutions are valid, aren't they :)
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Trending threads

Top