Question How to run Bitwarden via Docker on my NAS?

Currently reading
Question How to run Bitwarden via Docker on my NAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.
349
90
NAS
DS418play
Router
RT2600ac, MR2200ac
Operating system
macOS, Windows
Mobile operating system
iOS
Ok, I'll need some help here with running Bitwarden on Docker on NAS.

I managed to install Docker and Bitwarden from mprasil: Docker Hub

This is what I have so far:
4




Now, I'm not sure what to do next... How to run Bitwarden and connect to it on my NAS?

I've found this guide (dani-garcia/bitwarden_rs), but still not sure what are the next steps... Sorry, newbie.

Thank you for any help.
 
Last edited:
28
17
127.0.0.1
NAS
DS 211j
Router
RT2600ac
OK, so far so good.

From what I can see, Bitwarden container is using local ports 32768 and 32769 on your diskstation. Since 32769 translates to container port 80 (this is standard HTTP port according to RFC1700), my guess is that your Bitwarden installation should be accesible by pointing your favorite web browser to the local IP address of your Diskstation followed by local port number, something like:

http://192.168.X.X:32769

where X.X is the same as your diskstation.

It should open your web vault, where you can create accounts and manage everything.
 
349
90
NAS
DS418play
Router
RT2600ac, MR2200ac
Operating system
macOS, Windows
Mobile operating system
iOS
Perfect!

http://192.168.X.X:32769 works like a charm. Well, it's not SSL and my NAS IP change sometimes (not sure why).

But is there any way I can connect via https://[myservername].synology.me?
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,232
670
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
RT1900ac, RT2600ac, MR2200ac
NAS IP change sometimes (not sure why)
Reason is that you are not using your static IP address. Go to Control Panel > Network > Interface and change the LAN configuration from dynamic to static

But is there any way I can connect via https://[myservername].synology.me?
Yes there is. You will need to configure a revers proxy for that container using Control Panel > Application portal > Revers proxy. There you can make your FQDN name of choice as a Source along with port name and destination your NAS IP address and port that BW lives on (32769). After that go to Security (in Control Panel) and bind your SSL certificate to your new revers proxy parameter that will be visible there. Done
 
349
90
NAS
DS418play
Router
RT2600ac, MR2200ac
Operating system
macOS, Windows
Mobile operating system
iOS
Ooh, ok, I'll try to do my best :)

Thank you for now. I'll report back...
 
28
17
127.0.0.1
NAS
DS 211j
Router
RT2600ac
There is a Help & Support section on Bitwarden.com about on-premise installation.

By default, Bitwarden will be served through ports 80 (http) and 443 (https) on the localhost machine. You should open these ports so that Bitwarden can be accessed from within and/or outside of the network. You can choose different ports during installation if you like.
If you want to use just the DNS name, you should set up reverse proxy that responds to all inquiries from the Internet.

Otherwise, you should use your DNS name followed by port number (32769) which should bi opened on your router and forwarded directly to diskstation.
 
349
90
NAS
DS418play
Router
RT2600ac, MR2200ac
Operating system
macOS, Windows
Mobile operating system
iOS
Reason is that you are not using your static IP address. Go to Control Panel > Network > Interface and change the LAN configuration from dynamic to static
Actually, I don't have a static IP. As far as I know I need to contact my ISP for a static IP, am I right?
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,232
670
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
RT1900ac, RT2600ac, MR2200ac
Actually, I don't have a static IP. As far as I know I need to contact my ISP for a static IP, am I right?
LAN address has no connestion to your isp. Regarding your public ip, there is no problem considering that you are using ddns service
 
28
17
127.0.0.1
NAS
DS 211j
Router
RT2600ac
Actually, I don't have a static IP. As far as I know I need to contact my ISP for a static IP, am I right?
Sure, you can get static public IP address from your ISP if you want (costs money though), but for this it is not necessary, since it will not solve the issue of changing the local IP of your Diskstation.

There are two ways to solve the problem:

1. You set your router DHCP pool to reserve always the same IP address for your diskstation by using MAC address of the diskstation itself.

2. You change the DHCP range of your DHCP server (ISP router in your case) to exclude the address which you want to use for the diskstation, and set the IP of the diskstation manually (be sure to set both default gateway and DNS server accordingly, both to the IP of your ISP router).

Personally, I would completely disable DHCP server on the ISP router and run the DHCP service on the diskstation.
 
989
332
NAS
DS418play, DS213j, DSM 7.0.1-14401
Perfect!

http://192.168.X.X:32769 works like a charm. Well, it's not SSL and my NAS IP change sometimes (not sure why).

But is there any way I can connect via https://[myservername].synology.me?
Reason is that you are not using your static IP address. Go to Control Panel > Network > Interface and change the LAN configuration from dynamic to static

Yes there is. You will need to configure a revers proxy for that container using Control Panel > Application portal > Revers proxy. There you can make your FQDN name of choice as a Source along with port name and destination your NAS IP address and port that BW lives on (32769). After that go to Security (in Control Panel) and bind your SSL certificate to your new revers proxy parameter that will be visible there. Done
Why not just leave Source as a wild card (*). In my case I use multiple DDNS in the event one is down. Is this wrong?
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,232
670
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
RT1900ac, RT2600ac, MR2200ac
Why not just leave Source as a wild card (*). In my case I use multiple DDNS in the event one is down. Is this wrong?
No thats fine m8. Just telling 1:1 mapping here to ampy so he would understand how RP settings work
 
1,415
611
NAS
DS220+ : DS1019+ : DS216+II : DS118 : DS120j : APC Back UPS ES 700 — Mac/iOS user
Hi,

A quick aside question pls. Can I store photos in Bitwarden?
Simple pictures like passport and credit card, things like that, not my whole library of course.

For password management, I’ve been a long time user of Codebook (used to be called STRIP), and I like it very much, but this is the only thing I’m missing.

The other thing I’m wondering about, is why do I need to run anything server side with Bitwarden?! With Codebook all I need is the apps and I can sync using Dropbox, google drive or to the main app on my Mac. I wish for a WebDAV support so I can sync to my DS but that’s not happening.
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,232
670
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
RT1900ac, RT2600ac, MR2200ac
Can I store photos in Bitwarden?
No you can't but you can upload attachments if you have a premium membership. There are URLs, and custom text fields as well as Notes section but the rest can be uploded as an attachemnt.

6


why do I need to run anything server side with Bitwarden
Well BW is a server client platform. So server side everything is stored it offers multi user setup, and client side can be anything you want (well almost anything depending on your OS of choice and app support). So BW uses a DB format to store info not a simple flat file, so syncing is done the way that server side does all that, and clients just connect to it.

Personally I prefer it this way.
 
1,415
611
NAS
DS220+ : DS1019+ : DS216+II : DS118 : DS120j : APC Back UPS ES 700 — Mac/iOS user
Thank you Rusty. I might give it a try. But it seems to be a subscription based offering, not a one time purchase which is a bit discouraging to me.
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,232
670
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
RT1900ac, RT2600ac, MR2200ac
BW can be self-hosted so it’s free. I have it that way. Runs fine with multiples users using it.
 
349
90
NAS
DS418play
Router
RT2600ac, MR2200ac
Operating system
macOS, Windows
Mobile operating system
iOS
Sorry for late reply... I've been busy with other stuff.

Thanks to @Daddo who helped me out setting a fixed IP for my NAS :)

I hope I'll find some time later today to set up the Bitwarden. I'd really like to have it on my NAS.
 
1,415
611
NAS
DS220+ : DS1019+ : DS216+II : DS118 : DS120j : APC Back UPS ES 700 — Mac/iOS user
BW can be self-hosted so it’s free. I have it that way. Runs fine with multiples users using it.
That’s interesting and deserves checking out when I have time to spare. “Multiple users” is the keyword for me in addition to having everything local.

Thanks Rusty.
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,232
670
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
RT1900ac, RT2600ac, MR2200ac
5 min to setup that in docker. You are up an running in no time.
 
1,415
611
NAS
DS220+ : DS1019+ : DS216+II : DS118 : DS120j : APC Back UPS ES 700 — Mac/iOS user
I see. I don’t have Docker installed though (in spite Of having 8GB ram now).
Are there any import function in BW that can import a dump of my current password manager? Most likely in CSV.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Similar threads

Trending threads

Top