How to set up plex DS923+

Currently reading
How to set up plex DS923+

Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Hi I’m new to synology NAS I’ve had a WDmycloud for about ten years as it’s unsupported I thought I’d buy a new nas so I’m a newbie etc looking for tips on how to set up plex as that’s my only use I’ve put two WD reds in 3 tb drives created a pool ? No idea what that is ( back up of one drive mirror? ).
Any way my plex server is on my Mac mini pro this years model but I intend to move it onto the 923+ o think I have done it but would like some tips etc too see if I have please.

There are mainly two ways to install Plex on a NAS. Using the Package Centar or Docker. Considering you have no experience with Docker I would suggest to stay away for it, and there is no real reason to not use the PC install method.

Best to use the plex.tv version downloaded from their web site, as the one inside the Package Center is very outdated.

Once you have the version (x64 one for your model), open up Package Center and use the Manuall install button on the top right hand side. Follow the steps, and you should be up and running in no time.

thanks just that my processor is amd it threw me
Ofc you are correct and my response to your last mess was incorrect. The CPU is not Intel, but AMD abut both are x86 arch (x64 bit version of Plex is needed).

Better not reply to messages while on the phone :P (note to self)

I've almost copied my files over to the new nas my old wdmyclound one 2tb can i pit that into the synology i currently have two wd reds in there ?
and can you torrent to a drive on the gas like transmission or something like that ?.

can i pit that into the synology i currently have two wd reds in there
No you can't. DSM (Synology NAS) will wipe the drives before they can become part of the array.

can you torrent to a drive on the gas like transmission or something like that