DSM 7.1 Hyperbackup - insufficient privileges to access this destination shared folder

Currently reading
DSM 7.1 Hyperbackup - insufficient privileges to access this destination shared folder

11
1
Hi there

I am a home user, and I have been trying to set up a new backup task on my ds918+ (DSM 7.1.1-42962 Update 6) to a local USB attached to it. I have had this running previously with a nightly backup, however I have now deleted that task. When I try to set up a new backup task to the same usb hard drive, I keep getting the 'insufficient privileges to access the destination shared folder'.

The data task I have created has 'admin' as the default owner, although I do not know why this is, my 'admin' and 'guest' logins have always been disabled, and I have set-up my own versions. I have tried updating the properties of the *.hbk file, and setting my Owner, but it does not seem to save, whenever I go back in, its still referencing the default 'admin'.

Does anyone know how I set the owner of the task to my admin/user? Alternatively, I also tried to delete the USB device in the share folder, but I get the message "The following folders are reserved for system use".

Can anyone advise? Thank you.
 
Thanks for the reply. This does not seem to work. For clarity this is what I just tried
  • Navigate to Shared Folder - edit - permissions - admin, changed from No Access to Read/Write (this is under Local users).
  • Navigate to File Station - *.hbk properties - Owner&Group - change to new_admin (users), and check Apply to this folder and subfolders - hit save.
    • If I go back in and check, still references old_admin not new-admin
  • With old_admin still active, I can run the backup task, if unchecked then task will not run.
If I try and create a new task, with the old_admin having No Access and new_admin having Read/Write, then the task still defaults to old_admin and I can't seem to change with this method.
 
Upvote 0
Just to re-iterate - I can re-enable admin and run the task, but can't change the owner. Any new task is created with the old admin credentials. Anyone have any other ideas?
 
Upvote 0
Last edited:
Yes, but I am not sure it saves as I described above (I do hit save).

I have just been racking my brains, I don't think I signed out of my admin user and then back in with the original admin once re-enabled, perhaps I will try and change the ownernip again. I must be missing something...
 
Upvote 0
Its working now, not sure why. I enabled the admin account, logged in and thought I had the same problem. Logged out, logged back in with my admin account, disabled the default and tried again. It is currently updating even though the owner still states 'admin'.
 
Upvote 0

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Similar threads

I believe (though I am not the most experienced user here) that there is no rule about that and it...
Replies
2
Views
770
Replies
15
Views
2,107
  • Question
No no you were. It was I that failed to read your post and the more then obvious title. In that case have...
Replies
3
Views
971
  • Question
Final update. After completing the file copy back the 2nd time all is working properly now. So something...
Replies
11
Views
2,421
My brother and I each have a NAS at home. We want to back these up for each other. Initially, I have both...
Replies
0
Views
1,116

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Trending threads

Back
Top