I am comfortable with my settings(don’t believe VLAN will help)

Currently reading
I am comfortable with my settings(don’t believe VLAN will help)

NAS
DS 718+, 2x-DS 720+
Router
  1. RT2600ac
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Been wanting to post this for nearly a year, but got delayed by impending VLAN capabilities of my router RT2600ac, and issues when ISP problems came up.

I’m self taught, and I’m warning all of that.

Here is what I’ve implemented here. I post the settings because I’d like to see what others think about it.

When it becomes available, I’m thinking I will not use VLAN.

Most everything here is static ip. This allows me to determine by IP, what capabilities any new device would have, as you shall see.

DHCP here is IP .40–.54
IP Cameras are .163–.176

Firewalls: Router: (just IP specific ones)
Allow IP .1–.162 to internet
Deny all as last entry. No ports forwarded.

Firewalls: NAS1: (just IP specific ones)
Allow IP .2–.24 input to this NAS
Allow ftp from IP .163 — .176 input to this NAS
Deny all as last entry

Firewalls: NAS2&3 (just Ip specific ones)
Allow IP .2–.24 input to these NAS’s
Deny all as last entry

Due to the firewalls I have the following IP Groups:

Allow internet & NAS access
Allow internet —NO NAS access
NO INTERNET—NO NAS access

And ftp access from cameras to only 1 of 3 NAS’s.

The groups are not filled, so as new devices are acquired, I can pre determine what they will or will not be able to do based on the IP I assign to them.

Seems to work. I post this for discussion and improvement.

Open for comments, Please!

Thank You!

Basically, if you don’t want to use VLANs and feel secure in your current network topology then don’t change.

I’m pretty much of this view when looking at lists of new features in whatever OS/app has a major upgrade. My normal response is “don’t care; don’t care; don’t care; don’t care; might be interesting but can live without; don’t care; don’t care”.