I need help with setting up my router and NAS.

Currently reading
I need help with setting up my router and NAS.

NAS
DS 220+
Router
  1. RT2600ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
  2. other
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
So, I am sure that the title is very generic. And I apologize. I have tried posting in other forums and get over looked.
I am new to having this type of control (used to just use apple airports). I want the fastest and most secure possible set up.
I have the RT2600 and DS 220+

Goals:
DDNS to both router and NAS
Protected from attacks
Maintain internet speed

Devices I have:
Smart Light bulbs, switches, and ceiling fans
iOs devices
MacOS devices
Xbox Ones
Smart TVs
Windows Laptop
Wireless printer
Roku

Any possible setup suggestions? Static vs Dynamic? Etc.

I sincerely appreciate any help. Im not an idiot but with so much going on, I get frustrated quickly.

My current equipment set up:
Modem -> Router - Wired nas and normal wireless.

DDNS to both router and NAS
Welcome

Wouldn’t suggest setting up direct access to your router in any case.

If you will access your nas via ddns then you will have to use a custom port and forward it. In any case change the default one and configure ssl cert for your ddns name.

Protected from attacks
Use Threat package on your router as well as safe access for increased security and minimize port forwards.

For best security and still access from a remote location would be to setup vpn access. This will allow you access to your router and nas without the need to port forward any additional port apart from the vpn one.

Vpn access might not the fastest access but it will be the most secure. It all comes down to what you want with this setup in terms of your nas access and it’s data.

Last edited:
Thanks for the quick responses!
Wouldn’t suggest setting up direct access to your router in any case.
Probably for the best. But have some use cases below.