I'm cheap. DS718+??

Currently reading
I'm cheap. DS718+??

D

Deleted member 5784

Background: I'm a sysadmin & a dev working mainly in linux/server space...happy with cli / technical stuff. Have had synos in the past.
My main home / soho NAS is a self-rolled HPE server running Ubuntu server LTS & ZFS. I love tinkering with this stuff in my spare time...sooooo I'm looking to buy a used & CHEAP syno box to play around with / use as a iSCSI target / cold storage backup destination etc. I'd also like to hack around with DSM internals.
Need ~12TiB storage, plus docker. No VMs on this box.
I've focussed on the old DS718+ as a possible solution for this. Its got ian x86-64 CPU for compatibility, has quicksync (prob not needed at moment), can go to 8GB Ram (?)...and best of all it's CHEAP and there's a lot of them around used. I'm in the UK btw.

Does this sound like a reasonable plan? It's not my main server so the relatively weedy h/w spec shouldnt matter; its only serious purpose would be cold storage of backup data. No VMs etc.

It comes with DSM6.something. Do I need to u/g DSM to 7.x?? I'm hearing that thsi is much more locked down than v6...is DSM7 still reasonably accessible via SSH and can one change scripts / install 3rd party pkgs etc (I know this stuff won't be supported by the mother ship...)? How many months/years have I got on 6 before i'm forced to upgrade / buy another unit??
Realise this is a bit vague but I guess i'm looking to check whether buying a 4year old syno at thsi point is madness or not.

Cheers

Solution
Does this sound like a reasonable plan?
Spot on. A great model even today.

Do I need to u/g DSM to 7.x?? I'm hearing that thsi is much more locked down than v6...is DSM7 still reasonably accessible via SSH and can one change scripts / install 3rd party pkgs etc (I know this stuff won't be supported by the mother ship...)?