Java

Currently reading
Java

NAS
DS112,DS215
I am struggling using java on my NAS.. I have ceated html on WIndows (using MS Expressions) which uses the jquery.js tool set to display a slideshow. It all works ok on windows. I have coppied all of the code onto my NAS and amended the paths accordingly in the html code. When I run the html it does not seem to be picking up or execturing the java code in the jquery library. What have I done wrong? Please be gentle as I am a beginner at this game!

Are you running web station? Give a bit more details what you did and where exactly.

Hi, Thanks for the comment.

No I am not using web station, that may be the problem!

What I did:

I created pages using MS Expression on my Windows PC.
Some of the pages included a JS plug in.
I downloaded jquery onto my PC.
When I tested the pages using Edge (via Expression) they all worked.
I then copied all the pages, JS folder, and CSS folder onto my NAS.
I amended all the file paths in the HTML to point to the NAS file store.
When I ran the html containing calls to JS (using Expression/Edge on my PC) all the CSS files were executed OK but the JS was not.

If I create a web environment using web station, will it automatically include a JS environment or do I specifically have to load it (I have installed Java V7 and 8 on my NAS?

Uff that was a bit too much Microsoft talk there for my blood ;).

If I create a web environment using web station, will it automatically include a JS environment or do I specifically have to load it (I have installed Java V7 and 8 on my NAS?
That is a fair question that I’m not 100% sure but my gut tells me that you will have to. Install a web server 1st, deploy your solution and test it. If it fails then add Java support.

JavaScript isn't Java, and it's run by the browser.