Low clicking sound w. DS220+ and Seagate IronWolf drives

Currently reading
Low clicking sound w. DS220+ and Seagate IronWolf drives

NAS
DS220+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Newbie here.
I bought my first Synology NAS, DS220+ and set it up with 2 8TB Seagate IronWolf drives.
Fan is in quiet mode, HDD hibernation set for 15min, Advanced HDD hibernation to minimize power consumption enabled.
Ran IronWolf Tests on both drives and they are normal.
I didn't create any shared volumes as I am still checking it.

When NAS is idle (not accessed for a while), I see the Disk LED indicators are off telling me that HDs are in hibernation. However I hear a very low periodic noise. It is not loud but can be heard when there is no other noise; NAS is under my desk. I can't figure out if it is the fan or drives or issue with my NAS. Do you hear this with your systems? I have audio clips but not sure how to share them.

BTW my old Dlink NAS is still operational and literally shuts down (i.e. fan stops running unless in summer when it gets hot) when there is no activity; it is completely quiet.

Following up on my own post for others benefit. I am fairly convinced it is the fan making this noise in "quiet mode". I read a few posts elsewhere that some replaced their fans with different brands (Noctua and Arctic) for this reason. I will first contact Synology.

Can anyone here confirm this fan noise after HDDs hibernated?

Upvote 0
Difficult to say what it is. DSM is installed on its own partition on all HDD and it will do housekeeping activities during quiet times. I've never looked at the drive activity LEDs, are they pool/volume related or any activity (e.g. DSM)?

I'm running packages that stop hibernation working, so can't test what noises happen in this situation. But the Ironwolf 8TB (which I run) are noisier/clackier than my smaller WD Red (CMR).

The fan may be switching on and off as it will vary activity based on temperature.

Upvote 0