Currently reading
Migration form DS212J to DS220+

NAS
DS212J, DS218+, DS220+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
First post here, so I wasn't sure whether to add to this thread as it's similar, or start a new one...

I've been running a DS212J at home for a few years (2 x 2TB) and fairly recently added a DS218+ in my office (remote) with 2 x WD 6TB. Using HB between the two in both directions. This has lead to the (obvious) conclusion that the DS212J is getting long in the tooth, so:
Just bought a DS220+ and 2 x RED 6TB to replace the DS212J - apart from the initial problem that one of the REDs died within 20 minutes :oops:, I'm about to start moving everything across from the DS212J to the DS220+ along the lines in this thread. So, my questions are:

I've established that there's no assisted migration, as confirmed above, so planning to use HB. As the DS220+ will replace the DS212J, I want to give it the same name and use the same synology account, same quickconnect ID etc. so that it's a drop-in replacement. Are there no issues with both devices having all these the same whilst they are both on the network for the data transfer? Seems unlikely, but great if so!

When I set up HB, the target is (I assume) a remote NAS - so far I've then used the ddns hostname of the remote NAS for this, but if they are both the same, as mentioned above, surely this must be an issue?

I'm probably overthinking this, and perhaps it will become clear, but I like to have a degree of confidence when I start!

Oh, and a final note - as I currently only have one working HD, I guess there's no problem creating a volume on this and transferring everything across. Once I receive a replacement for the dead one, I can just slot it in and let the NAS do its stuff, right?

Apologies, that seems to have turned in to a long first post!