Moments Moments iPhone backup not working wifi please help!

Currently reading
Moments Moments iPhone backup not working wifi please help!

NAS
DS1621+, DS1621+, DS918
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Not sure if this is the right area of the forum for this question or not, I apologize in advance if I'm posting in the wrong section.

I have a ds1621+ on dsm6 and several family members using different phones (android/iPhone). I'm new to the whole nas scene in general, but I chose synology as it seemed to be the most popular and I assumed had the most support and most mature file and app support...? Why else would it be THE name in network storage.

On my android (Samsung s21) my moments app does not auto start the backup process, but does successfully backup after I manually launch the app and start the backup... Ok fine. I'd love for it to work automatically when connected to wifi at home, but that's not the reason for this post.

My wife has an iPhone. Moments ios app refuses to upload photos (files) from her device to the nas. It doesn't work if the app is not up front as the main app... As I understand that's an ios/apple thing - ok fine. But even leaving it on (the moments app), up front and running, set the display to never sleep, the app continues to fail to backup. Says unsupported file? I totally don't get that, but ok..skip that file/picture. Then it runs into another issue... Then stops syncing and says unable to backup. I can't remember the exact line but in the end, it fails to transfer the files from her phone to the nas... One of the reason I chose synology was the hype of moments being a great Google photos alternative.

Surely I'm doing something wrong? This seems like such a basic and simple task? Move the photos and videos from the iPhone folder over LAN wifi at home, to the nas... Simple...? I mean, what is network storage for if not to transfer files from A to B right...?