This NAS will be used for: multimedia

Max budget for this setup: 1500 EUR

Number of users that will utilize this NAS: 1

Any preferred network connectivity? /

Where will this NAS be used: LAN and over the Internet

Any special network requirements: /

Special cloud provider connectivity: /

Additional information:
Hi guys, I'm a Qnap user and I want to switch to Synology. Currently I have a TS-451a, it's a 4 bay and I've upgraded the ram to have extra speed. Now I have no more space into the disks and the system is too slow for my needs.

I'm a professional photographer and I shoot with high resolution cameras (Leica). Each picture is about 100Mb and when I post process the images they became from 300mb to 1tb for each image. I need to move those files quickly and have access from anywhere into the world. I will place it ad home, where I have a real cat6 cabling made of 100% copper, no aluminium at all (I don't have a 10g switch, only 1gb Fritzbox 7530 for the moment).

1 disk failure is not enough for me, I would like to be protected at least against 2 disks failure.
Reading online I was looking at those models:

DS1621+

DS1621XS+

DS1821+

Using the SHR2 or the RAID6 (depending on your suggestions).

I use both MacOs and Windows (but I prefer MacOs) and it would be a nice touch integrate a cloud backup service. For example all my documents are stored into Dropbox. Would be a nice thing to synchronise them automatically.

My budget is around 1000-1100 euros for the NAS. Regarding the disks actually I have 4 WD red 3TB but I suppose I need to buy new one beause I can't just pull out the QNAP and insert them into the Synology, right? The idea of the SHR looks really appealing to me. I like the fact that when a disk fails I can replace it with a bigger disk and use the extra space. For example on the Qnap I've swapped 3 disks already and everytime I was forced to buy 3Tb disks otherwise the extra space would be wasted.

Hi, welcome to the forum.