Mobile operating system
  1. Android
  2. iOS

Usage type: home

Preferred form factor DS (DiskStation)

Number of bays: 4-bays

Do you have any existing drives that you plan on using? No

Prefered RAID array setup for this NAS: RAID 5

This NAS will be used for: backup, multimedia, surveillance, utilities (docker, VPN, reverse proxy, web hosting, etc.)

Max budget for this setup: 1500 EUR

Number of users that will utilize this NAS: 3

Any preferred network connectivity? 1G

Where will this NAS be used: LAN and over the Internet

Any special network requirements: /

Special cloud provider connectivity: /

Additional information:
Hi i'm new to NAS devices, i want a home based area with central storage, cloud storage as replacement of our Dropboxes, probably use a VPN function and use multimedia shares. Im looking for Synology due to that the systems makes sense to me as a newbe and i have a friend running it for years so he can help out when i need it.

My choise has fallen on a Synology DS423+ 4 bay station.

But with the hard drives my choice is harder between cash, build quality and sound level.

Narrowed it down to 3 types of drives:

Seagate Ironwolf NAS ST8000VN004 7200RPM 8TB
(DS423+ with 4 HDDs €1272)

WD Red Plus WD80EFZZ 5600 RPM 8TB
(DS423+ with 4 HDDs €1349)

Seagate Ironwolf NAS ST8000VN002 5600RPM 8TB
(DS423+ with 4 HDDs €1345)

These sets are now in my current favorite order.

The setup will be standing in an open attick area.(staircase lets all the sound go trought te house, even my n scale modeltrain sounds 2 stories down almost as hard as in the attick)
Or in my little office next to our other 2 bedrooms.

So the level of sound is important to me. Ive searched for days now but cant get sure which to buy best.

The 7200rpm is the cheapest and fastest solution but probably the loudest to.

Hope to use the system for years coming thats why i directly go to 4 8TBs.

What advice could you guys and girls give me regarding the HDD's.

Greetz Marc