NAS hardware

Currently reading
NAS hardware

Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Hi,
I'm new to networking and trying to work out what NAS to buy to suit my needs. Basically this is my current situation -
  • CAT5e or 6 (not sure which) cable throughout my house
  • currently have a ASUS AC1900 router (looking to upgrade to WIFI 6 router in the medium term)

I'm looking to get a NAS to allow me to -
  • connect 2x PoE IP 15w cameras and record locally on NAS as well as remote access
  • Jellyfin media server to be connected to smart TV and computers
  • General file storage with infrequent remote file reading
  • potential photo backup service

My questions are mainly around how many drives I require, the type SSD or HDD and the configuration. Is it best to allocate a separate drive for the surveillance cameras? If so can I then still get away with a 2 bay NAS? The files I will be keeping on the NAS for the media centre and other files are not critical if they get lost so I don't require mirroring or even redundancy RAID although extra speed would be good of course.

Would HDD for everything best suit my needs for the price or should I look at SSD for 1 or all of drives? Would there be a great benefit to choose a NAS with the option to add M.2 NVMe SSD caching and/or should I upgrade RAM to at least 4gb (most of the NAS options I'm looking at have 2gb standard)?

The two NAS options I'm looking at are DS220+ and DS423+. Thanks in advance

Last edited:
Go for the DS423+
Data and media files: 2 x HDDs SHR1 BTRFS WD red plus
Surveillance Station: 1 HDD Basic WD purple
Let the 4th bay free for further upgrades, expand the existing pool to 3 HDDS or an SSD for Docker or VM

The DS423+ comes with 2 licenses for cameras, but you need a POE-Switch to connect the cams.
Jelly works fine on the DS423+