Currently reading
Nas used for surveillance and backup

NAS
DS 918+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
So I currently have a DS918+ with 4 drives totalling 10TB mainly used as storage; music server photo depositary etc.
I also have a usb drive attached to backup the nas daily.
I've purchased a powered switch and camera which I've yet to set up. I aim to have 2 cameras used for the obvious.

My idea was to get another nas (low powered such as a DS218) from ebay connect the cameras to the 918+ and put the 218 in my roof space as a backup.
The 218 would be used to backup - just in case the 918 fails or gets stolen; I figure a burglar wouldn't be bothered to go into the roof space.

I know this wouldn't prevent data from being lost in the event of a fire. I can't arrange off site storage and don't trust or can't afford cloud storage.
I am a noob when it comes to networking; so keep it simple.

Any thoughts?

Last edited:
In addition to normal NAS duties…and backup data location for 2 other NAS’s, I’m using 13 HiKvision cameras: each with motion detect ftp’ing to same NAS in different directories with 1920x1080 pics, and NAS IS TAKING 3 streams of IP and creating 3x 1920x1080/30 video streams motion detecting via SS (1 extra license +2 defaults) saving in different folders simultaneously on a 718+ with 6GB Ram & 2x 7200rpm Ironwolf’s. Also give DS CAM access to 3 1920x1080/30 cameras to our Subdivision to see live weather conditions at a mountain road switchback 24/7/365— And it’s pretty obvious that I’ve plenty of bandwidth left to allow for more licenses, if a sale ever comes up!
I have 2 720+ systems, but see no need whatsoever to move all this from 718+ to a 720+ with 6GB Ram + Ironwolf’s + 512GB Caches.
The 718+ has bandwidth for more expansion — now looking for a license sale!