Currently reading
New to NAS

NAS
Synology 220j
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
I am brand new to the world of NAS. I just bought and installed a 220j with two 6TB Seagate Iron Wolf 5700 rpm drives. My primary purpose was to replace an Apple Airport Time Capsule for backup of a household of MACOS and IOS devices although I realize that a NAS has a lot more potential than just that. My first decision is whether it is better to use Apple Time Machine (as I have been doing for years) for backups or to use Synology Drive in some manner for this purpose.

Time Machine. Setup correctly there is nothing better,

That may change in the future but for now it remains the best for macOS.

More importantly - welcome to the forum!
Thanks for the reply. That would certainly be the easiest way to go since I already know Time Machine. I can always change as I learn more about NAS.

Upvote 0
Synology Drive client on Mac/PC has two main functions: backup task; Dropbox-style folder sync (can be two or one-way sync). Both can be configured, or one or the other.

I've not used the backup function for a whole disk backup, only Documents etc. As such, I've not checked it supports a full rebuild resulting in a bootable drive. My personal preference is to have two bootable clones*, using CCC, of each Mac and these are updated on a schedule. Then changes since the clone can be recovered from other backups (Drive, TM, etc).

*one will use a fast interface (USB3, preferably to SSD) and other may re-use slower enclosures.

Upvote 0
I have to admit my ignorance and ask what CCC is? I took the plunge last night and started a Time Machine backup. After watching a dozen video tutorials, I discovered that the 220j doesn't support BTRFS files. If I had known that, I might have bought the 220+. I did have one occasion when I had to restore my iMac from a Time Machine backup. The iMac crashed when I first installed Big Sur.

Upvote 0