"No Audio Output Device is installed." Windows 10 Home 20H2

NAS
DS220+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Hey, absolute newbie here. I got a DS220+ a few days ago and saw that it had a virtual machine manager, and with my old laptop not having the power to run VirtualBox or VMWare well I thought I would run some virtual machines. I got an ISO from Microsoft's site and followed a tutorial to load up the VM, and it worked great up until I noticed I had no audio. Windows says that I don't have an audio output device installed. There is another thread that seems to discuss the same thing, but it talks about VirtIO drivers and using PC hardware for audio, which I don't understand. Is there something I need to install to get audio? Thanks to anyone who comments in advance. :)

1613418686898.png

Edit: After checking device manager, it does seem to be a problem with audio drivers (what a surprise). There isn't an audio driver installed. How do I get one onto my VM? (I've attached an image of device manager)

1613421034184.png

Hey, absolute newbie here. I got a DS220+ a few days ago and saw that it had a virtual machine manager, and with my old laptop not having the power to run VirtualBox or VMWare well I thought I would run some virtual machines. I got an ISO from Microsoft's site and followed a tutorial to load up the VM, and it worked great up until I noticed I had no audio. Windows says that I don't have an audio output device installed. There is another thread that seems to discuss the same thing, but it talks about VirtIO drivers and using PC hardware for audio, which I don't understand. Is there something I need to install to get audio? Thanks to anyone who comments in advance. :)

View attachment 3075

Edit: After checking device manager, it does seem to be a problem with audio drivers (what a surprise). There isn't an audio driver installed. How do I get one onto my VM? (I've attached an image of device manager)