no way to play DTS audio at all?

Currently reading
no way to play DTS audio at all?

NAS
DS920+
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
I'm a NAS noob. I've been converting my DVDs and now BluRays into MKVs and have them in Video Station. It works pretty well on two smart TVs and multiple iOS devices. Right up until I found a movie with only DTS sound.

Am I correct that there is no way to get Video Station to play DTS audio? I guess the real limitation is on the DS video client, which I have on a Sony TV, Amazon Fire Stick, and iOS devices.

Is there a workaround? I could convert the audio tracks but that seems difficult. Change to Plex? (I couldn't get it to even play a movie on my 2020 Sony Android TV).

Thanks for any help - Happy new Year.

Last edited:
Hi,

I think DTS is no longer supported by Video Station.

There’re a few Plex users on the forum so they might help with fixing your Plex problem. I’m using Emby but I can’t recall (didn’t pay attention) if I tried anything with DTS. So far it played everything I tried.
-- post merged: --

Check this on Emby’s forum. A discussion about DTS and LG TV. Not necessarily to install Emby, but the info could be useful :)

Hi,

I think DTS is no longer supported by Video Station.

There’re a few Plex users on the forum so they might help with fixing your Plex problem. I’m using Emby but I can’t recall (didn’t pay attention) if I tried anything with DTS. So far it played everything I tried.
-- post merged: --

Check this on Emby’s forum. A discussion about DTS and LG TV. Not necessarily to install Emby, but the info could be useful :)
Thanks for the great info. I was unaware of Emby. I was hoping for a free app but it seems like I'm going to have to pay. From the forum post you linked, it sounds like Plex may be able to work. I'll try to get it running on my Sony TV again. Thanks!