DS218
Router
  1. RT2600ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
  2. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
What is the purpose of each of the files I get when exporting the OpenVPN configuration from a RT2600ac router?
  1. Ca.crt
  2. Ca.key
  3. Server-ca.crt
  4. Server.crt
  5. Server.key
Which file(s) do I use to import the certificate on a NAS running local web sites? I will only use a VPN to remotely connect to the local network. Please advise. Thanks!

Last edited:
Hello Shadow - The content of the .key files read "RSA private key" and the .crt read "Certificate". Which ones are you referring to with "the entire cert chain"? I may be asking the obvious but I am a newbie here...

More context. My router has a certificate from Let's encrypt, I am using synology DDNS. To avoid the certificate mismatch browser error, should I get the Let's encrypt certificate on the NAS or a self-signed certificate? And which one (from the 5 I get exporting the configuration) is which?
Note I will only be connecting remotely (once in a blue moon) via VPN, otherwise the local web site will be accessed via LAN only.

thanks

Upvote 0
Sorry I was a bit confused because this doesn't make much sense to be initially:

1. Ca.crt
  2. Ca.key
  3. Server-ca.crt
  4. Server.crt
  5. Server.key

I did an export on my own RT2600AC and I also got the files presented like this... This messy...

I also cannot find 1 .crt file that holds the content of al the other .crt files...
And then there are 2 seperate .key files......

I don't know what to do with this...

What did you use to import the certificate into your RT2600AC ...?

Upvote 0
If you are using OpenVPN client application on PC/Android/iOS (Tunnelblick on Mac) to connect back to your SRM router or DSM NAS then what you need is the .ovpn configuration file that can be exported from VPN Plus or VPN Server OpenVPN page.