Currently reading
OpenVPN Stopped Allowing Local Network Access

NAS
DS1621xs+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
I've been running OpenVPN on my DS1621xs+ for about 8 months. I only connect to it remotely when I'm traveling for work, which is maybe 1-3 times per month.

Recently I've started having an issue where I can VPN in, connect to DSM via the browser, but can't access anything on my LAN. I've verified that my IP addresses are not in conflict between my Laptop's WiFi and my subnet on my home LAN.

I took the obvious approach of toggling the "Allow clients access to server's LAN", but every time I try to change that, it fails and I get the attached error. Strangely, if I reboot DSM, the checkbox remains on/off based on what I intended for it to do before the error. In any case, it isn't solving the issue.

Is there any documentation for what that checkbox does? Is there an easy way to reset all the network routes? I'm not currently using the NAS for anything besides a file share and cloud sync.

DSM Version: DSM 7.1-42661 Update 3
Synology VPN Server Version: 1.4.6-2892

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• DSM error.png
    DSM error.png
    55.7 KB · Views: 120
Solution
ping 192.168.1.201 -t
Request timed out. [before connecting to VPN]

Where are you pinging from? Are you on the same subnet? If not, why do you expect a reply (or are you not)?

If it was working before and suddenly misbehaved, then either there were some changes on the server side or the client side. Think back and try to recall any changes you've done recently.
  • Did you configure the VPN for all traffic or are you on a split tunnel?
  • Do you have any static routes defined?
  • Do you have the firewall enabled?
  • Try a different client just for testing.
Thanks for the suggestions. I have uninstalled the VPN Server and reinstalled it. I also generated a new export, so the cert is good until August 2023.