Permission that allows to delete but does not allow to read

Currently reading
Permission that allows to delete but does not allow to read

30
2
NAS
DS220j
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Hello,
I have a DS220j, and I am the administrator.
I would like to create shared folder for my friend that he could use as a data storage.
And I want to make him sure his data are private and can be read only by him.

But due to fact I am the administrator I still want to be able to manage his Shared Folder like move to another volume or even to delete it in special cases.
But I want to be not allowed to see his files and folders.

Is that possible, such configuration?

Best Regards
 
But I want to be not allowed to see his files and folders.
Your friend could use a product that creates a secure, encrypted vault on the NAS's shared folder.
Veracrypt. Cryptomator. Otherwise, users must trust all administrators (if you use iCloud, Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox, etc., you are already doing so).
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Old thread notice: There have been no replies in this thread for quite some time. The last reply was on .
The content in this thread may no longer be relevant. It might be better to open a new thread instead.

Similar threads

SMB and File station can handle both ACL and Unix permissions. But Drive can hadle ACL only. It was...
Replies
5
Views
2,677
I want, for example, one share with name "photos". All users can upload and view. But no delete. The "Joe"...
Replies
8
Views
3,313
Thankyou it saves me, for some reason some peeps decided to go with weird naming and I am the one stuck...
Replies
9
Views
2,209

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Trending threads

Back
Top