Currently reading
Please, help a noob! I'm so confused..

NAS
423+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
I'm not new to computers, but an apparently a complete noob with NAS. I have a DS423+ with 4x10tb drives running SHR.
I have a couple of YT channels and was running out of space on my computer for all the video files. I keep all my source files so all that 4k footage can add up quickly. I wanted a NAS so I could have a large storage pool that was always on and the files always available, having parity protection was a bonus.
However, I was a bit surprised that I only got a quick start guide with the NAS, not real documentation or a How To for basic home NAS setup. I ended up watching a YT video that told me how to basic setup, but apparently not well enough as I am having issues.
Keep in mind this is a home NAS only, 90% of its use will be my me, storing my video files and also backing up some other files on my computer. So I wont need a bunch of users or worry about protecting one users stuff from another.
I have several questions/issues, in the root, I have these folders:
■ home (my folder)
■ homes (can only see this when I log in as admin, has my home and my wife's home folder)
■ Media Storage (where I store all of my source videos files, this is about 5tb.)
■ Channels (where I store my finished videos and other files for my YT channels, about 1.5tb)
■ PlexMediaServer (where plex media server is)
First question is, should I have my Media Storage folder and my Channels folder in my homes folder? or is it OK to leave it on the root? any advantage to having it either place?