DSM 7.0 Plex Docker or Package Center?

Currently reading
DSM 7.0 Plex Docker or Package Center?

Operating system
  1. Windows
Hi,

I am about to pull the trigger on purchasing the DS920+.

I will be using it as a Plex Server mainly, and also setting up a torrent client with *arr intergration, with the torrent traffic hopefully going through a VPN; need to research my options here.

Is it better to have Plex installed using Docker, or a manual install using the package Center? What are the Pros/cons of each?
I will be accessing Plex mainly on the LAN, but I do give access to a couple of family members when they ask for a specific movie. I dont think I will be transcoding, but will the installation method impact this in any way?

I'm thinking Docker from what I've seen online, but I have never used it before, but it seems relatively straight forward for something as simple as Plex.

Also, re the compatibity table, I have seen some Iron Wolf 4TB with the model number ‎‎ST4000VNZ008, but the table only has ST4000VN008 (no Z). Will this be an issue? Any other recomendations for drives around £100 (I am in the uk)?

Thanks for reading,
PG

What are the Pros/cons of each?
Like any other docker app it will be sandboxes and more clean to run it as a container. Also the migration will be much more easier to a new host if you will need to do it in the future.

Saying all that you will not have hw transcode problems regardless of your choice.

Finally both methods will keep you at the latest version as Plex pushes new package version as well as an docker image pretty much at the same time.

Personally I use plex in multiple servers via package center, just because I always had it that way and those servers are pretty much dedicated devices for that, but I have a few docker ones as well and as an end user, you will not notice a difference.