Question port apparently in use after reboot

Currently reading
Question port apparently in use after reboot

249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Last edited:
how do i find out what's using (or claiming to be using) a particular port on the NAS.
i powered off the NAS to phyiscally move it, powered it back on.
everything came back up nicely apart from 1 docker instance, apparently because the port that it used for months is now being used by something else.

port 5900

i've checked all the other docker instances and nothing there is using 5900, so i'm at a loss as to what the NAS things is using 5900 that it can't start the docker.
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,392
708
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
SSH into your nas as root and run

netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN
 
249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
that didn't tell me much

[email protected]:/$ netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN
(Not all processes could be identified, non-owned process info
will not be shown, you would have to be root to see it all.)
tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:2379 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:139 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:5900 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN -
 
1,073
356
NAS
DS418play, DS213j, DS3621+, DSM 7.0.4-11091
Running VNC? Have any other docker containers grabbed that port?
 
249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
no other docker containers have that port, all my dockers have physically set ports, not auto.
the container that is trying use the port actually uses VNC, but it won't start because it says something else has that port, no other containers use VNC
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,392
708
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
that didn't tell me much

[email protected]:/$ netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN
(Not all processes could be identified, non-owned process info
will not be shown, you would have to be root to see it all.)
tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:2379 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:139 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:5900 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN -
I said as root didn’t I?
 
249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
root you say?
if there is a root password then i certainly don't know it, and it's not the same as my own admin account.
my account is the only admin account on the NAS (the default admin account is disabled).
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,392
708
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
log into your nas via ssh and the do

sudo -i

enter your main account password and you will elevate to root
 
249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
looks like it was VMM (qemu), which is strange as both of those were running before the reboot.
 
249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
incidentally, i still can't get pihole to work even though it is (apparently) listening on port 53

tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:53 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN
24295/pihole-FTL

whenever i set the any device to use the IP of the NAS for DNS i get no DNS resolution at all.
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,392
708
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
incidentally, i still can't get pihole to work even though it is (apparently) listening on port 53

tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:53 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN
24295/pihole-FTL

whenever i set the any device to use the IP of the NAS for DNS i get no DNS resolution at all.
configured on the host network or bridge? I managed to get it to work with the host network before I completely moved to ADGuard.
 
249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
no i can't. that's what the issue is.
whenever i set the IP of the NAS/pihole as the DNS server on any LAN client i get no DNS resolution at all.
unless i am not understanding what you are asking.

when i used adguard it worked fine as a DNS server (which was uninstalled quite some time ago now).
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,392
708
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
this?

Annotation 2020-07-05 141407.jpg
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,392
708
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Guess that network visibility is not an issue here.
 
249
25
NAS
DS1019+
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Guess that network visibility is not an issue here.

i've gave up trying to get pihole to work.
turned off the container, re-installed adguard home, pointed devices to IP, and it worked as expected.

so no idea why pihole was having problems.

so any config tips for adguard?
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Trending threads

Top