Problem with external USB drives and formatting

NAS
Synology DS218
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Gidday

I am a bit of a newbie to NAS's and posted this on the Synology forum (I have submitted a ticket to Synology) and other places but haven't had any solutions to the problem...I hope I have posted this in the correct thread...apologies if not...

I bought a second-hand DS218 and have installed two Seagate Ironwolf 4Tb drives and have everything working as it should (AFIAK) but when I attempt to plug an external hard disk via USB (a WD 4Tb on the compatible list) that is formatted as exFAT (or other formats), I get a message when I try to format it in the external devices area...

The error message is "Formatting "usb disk1" with ext3/ext4 failed since its size is less than 100 MB". Looking at it in Windows it recognises the size of the drive as 4Tb. I have searched and found only one mention of this problem and the reply wasn't too helpful...

I have tried another USB to SATA adapter and I am getting the same response...

This is frustrating me and I am hoping that someone may have a hint as to what is wrong and how I can go about fixing the problem...

cheers

col

Last edited:
Many thanks for the reply but no go...I have formatted the drive to other formats, including NTFS and I am still getting the same message...
Would it be better to format the drive using Linux? I have the Ubuntu WSL installed but my knowledge of it is severely lacking...
And the drive is empty as I only just purchased it...

cheers

col

PS Why are you formatting it? If you want to backup to it you can just use 'USB Copy' and it will write to it as a NTFS drive. Or are you trying to use it as extra storage to read from? Are you using DSM7.2 (the NAS operating system)?

I want to use it as an external USB backup drive...
I am using DSM 7.2

I deleted the drive/partition and attempted again but got the same result...

cheers

col