Currently reading
Problems connection to NAS Control Panel via ethernet

NAS
DS216play
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
I am new to Synology, I setup a DS216Play a while ago through my network and it worked well. Now I have moved and it is not working anymore.

I tried the usual suggestions, find.synology.com, Synology assistant etc and yesterday I bought an ethernet cable to connect my MacBook directly to the NAS.

I now can connect to the folders on the NAS but I still can not connect to the Control Panel.

The new internet access is not my router so I can not physically attach a cable to that, I did a reset to reset the ip as well. No avail.

How shall I proceed? Any help is very much appreciated. Thank you

By sheer accident I tried to use http://synologynas.local:5000 again (this time with the ethernet cable attached) and I got into the control panel.

I am still puzzled however how to setup the NAS to use the internet but not being able to physically plug into the internet router or being able to access the settings of the internet router. At the moment I am only able to access the NAS via ethernet cable but would love to use it also through the iPhone and SmartTV also when I am away from home.

At the moment I am only able to access the NAS via ethernet cable but would love to use it also through the iPhone and SmartTV also when I am away from home.
Welcome to the forum!

Let's take a step back. Local access vs Internet access is not the same and it takes certain configuration to make it work.

So, 1st, is the NAS configured inside LAN (Control Panel > Network) to use a static IP addess (that would be the local one) or DHCP? In any case, make sur eto lock it down on a static IP address inside the same network (subnet) as your local devices so that it doesn't travel around the network.