NAS
DS920+
Operating system
  1. macOS
  2. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I am new to the NAS world and do not yet have a grasp of best practices for storage, backup, and sync. I would appreciate your advice. Please forgive the lengthy post. I don't know enough so to make it short.

GOALS: Safety of my data, and access to it from any device.

BACKGROUND:
1. I use both a MacBook Pro and a Dell laptop daily, but usually for different things. However, I often need to access documents/files created on one while I am away from home with the other laptop. I used to use OneDrive so I always had access to everything on either laptop or my iPad or Android phone. But both OneDrive and my laptops filled up, and I lost data when I deleted some things from OneDrive and it deleted it from both laptops as well (because I didn't realize what I was doing). I then bought my first NAS, a DS920+ and DX517 expansion unit so I could control my data and move away from OneDrive. After a disaster when I accidentally touched the power button on the DX517 and damaged the single large volume, I have rebuilt the NAS with a separate volume on each box, and am ready to get things set up again.
2. I use a separate external HDD as a Time Machine for continuous backup of my MacBook when it is home, and use external hard drives connected to my PC for regular backups using Acronis. I also subscribe to both Backblaze and iDrive for backups of both computers and my phone.

COMPLICATION: The primary thing I do on the MacBook that I do not do on the Windows laptop is video editing. I almost always do this at home, not while traveling. I filled up the MacBook SSD with huge Final Cut Pro libraries. I want to move the libraries I am not currently working with to the NAS where I can get to them for a single job on the MacBook if needed, but no longer store them on the MacBook.