restore / reset without losing your hard drive stuff

Currently reading
restore / reset without losing your hard drive stuff

13
0
NAS
DS220j
hello does anyone know if you can restore / reset your nas model DS416PLAY without losing your hard drive stuff has 10 tb of movie so i don't think i can make a backup

remi off
 
1,477
640
NAS
DS220+ : DS1019+ : DS216+II : DS118 : DS120j : APC Back UPS ES 700 — Mac/iOS user
Can you define what do you mean by restore and reset? Do you mean the admin credentials?
Can you elaborate on the problems you’re facing?
 
1,477
640
NAS
DS220+ : DS1019+ : DS216+II : DS118 : DS120j : APC Back UPS ES 700 — Mac/iOS user
I think “reinstall DSM but keep data” is what you’re looking for (in the article below). But I’ve never tried it, so wait until someone else confirms that they’ve done it and the data lived through it. Be careful.
 

jeyare

Subscriber
1,587
537
here is official guide from Syno KBfor your request:
1. you can reset just administrator login credentials and network settings to default settings if you have forgotten your password, want to move your Synology NAS to another network environment, or need to assign a new IP address. Then all data will remain in the NAS.
Use the guidelines.
Don’t use the second reset type, otherwise you will lose entire NAS setup and data.
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
2,393
709
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS412+, DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+ with expansions
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Would like to mention that "3. Mode 2: Reset Synology NAS and re-install the operating system DSM" will not force a volume/pool delete if DSM is reinstalled, even though the warning will pop up.
 
1,477
640
NAS
DS220+ : DS1019+ : DS216+II : DS118 : DS120j : APC Back UPS ES 700 — Mac/iOS user
This is the same procedure as the one I’ve posted. You said it didn’t work. It erased everything.
Are you sure you followed this particular procedur, not the one that erases everything.
 
1,073
356
NAS
DS418play, DS213j, DS3621+, DSM 7.0.4-11091
Reset Modes 1 and 2 do not touch the data partition. Mode 1 will reset your login and a few other things. Mode 2 will clear your config. It is well-described here.

And here...

OTOH, Factory Reset will clear the data partition.

I have done all three of these in the past.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Trending threads

Top