Currently reading
Reverse proxy help

NAS
DS213J, DS918+
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Still very beginner here, so I'm sure this is easy fix but appreciate help with reverse proxy.

I would like my plex, calibre, calibre-web, and audio bookshelf docker to be accessible via reverse proxy. (Up until now using open vpn on devices and then logging into the "local IP") but would like to share books with family members who are even less tech savvy. The best option would seem to be reverse proxy outside home network.

I have a name.synology.me domain, and have this setup. I have also been able to set my netgear orbi router to expose 443, and have been able to access synology apps (photos drive etc) outside the wifi network with https://name.synology.me. I went to reverse proxy and set this up for Plex.name.synology.me and so on for each and set up certificate in let's encrypt. When I am on my local network I have no issue access the site https://plex.name.synology.me, but when I connect remotely I can not access the site https://plex.name.synology.me.

Help!!

For the destination are you sure it isn't HTTPS? Also if the the service is accessible on the NAS's own LAN IP then the destination IP can be 127.0.0.1 (localhost). For docker containers that are running direct to the LAN then you use their own LAN IP.

The reverse proxy can work HTTPS to it from web clients and HTTP to the real web service, but that service does have to be listing on HTTP.

I have done this for a few web services too, Plex included, and it works.

Last edited:
For the destination are you sure it isn't HTTPS? Also if the the service is accessible on the NAS's own LAN IP then the destination IP can be 127.0.0.1 (localhost). For docker containers that are running direct to the LAN then you use their own LAN IP.

The reverse proxy can work HTTPS to it from web clients and HTTP to the real web service, but that service does have to be listing on HTTP.