REVERSE PROXY - QUESTIONS

Currently reading
REVERSE PROXY - QUESTIONS

NAS
DS918+
Operating system
  1. Windows
I have multiple NAS devices on my LAN. Having read several posts on this forum, it would appear that setting up 'reverse proxy' would resolve the issue of connecting someone outside of my LAN to the correct NAS & folder on that NAS. I presently have a static IP address provided by my ISP.
The posters all indicate I will need a SSL certificate (Lets Encrypt is suggested) as well as a registered domain. I am relatively new to this so humor me please.
I now how to obtain the domain. Is it correct to assume any SSL certificate I presently have from Synology will not work with reverse proxy?

Can you just explain 1st what the end game is here? Not necessarily need reverse proxy if you just need access to your folders.

It can be used in that manner but only in case you are running a custom domain and maybe want to manipulate some ports.

So best to start with your wishes in plain words and people here will help out with suggestions depending on your needs.

Upvote 0
A Synology DDNS domain and SSL certificate will work, you just have the luxury of have the IP never changing. Normally people use DDNS because their ISP IP address changes regularly, or at least unpredictably. But the DDNS mechanism is just an agent on a LAN device going out the the the DDNS servers and saying "this is my current Internet IP, please use this", there's no more magic to it.

In the reverse proxy setup in Control Panel you assign a FQDN such as myothernas.domain.com, or myothername.mynas.synology.me. And then set the destination as the LAN IP of the other NAS. You just need to have the SSL certificate you assign to this reverse proxy rule (Control Panel -> Security -> Certificates) be created such that the list of alternaive names includes the server name you used.

Upvote 0
Rusty,