Currently reading
DSM 7.1 Running Minecraft server in Docker

NAS
DS923+ (16GB)
Router
  1. RT6600ax
Operating system
  1. Windows
I'm trying to run a Minecraft server in Docker (itzg-minecraft-server) for my kids.. I'm a bit of a newbie on this though.. The Minecraft server seems to consume about 30% CPU on my DS918+ even though no player is connected to the server.. Is this behaviour expected?
I've checked the log for the docker image while running it and can't see anything out of the ordinary..

EDIT: Logs says RCON running on 0.0.0.0:25575 which might look a bit strange..?

Is this behaviour expected?
pretty much, yes. You are running a server platform so it will have a penalty

Logs says RCON running on 0.0.0.0:25575 which might look a bit strange..?
It only means that its running on your NAS LOCAL IP address on port 25575

If the container uses the
  • bridge network:
    • 0.0.0.0 binds to all network interfaces of the container
    • requires a port mapping between host port and container port to be accessible by any ip of the nas:host port
  • host network:
    • 0.0.0.0 binds to all network interfaces of the host
    • container is directly reachable by any ip of your nas:container port

The CPU got better after a few minutes. But I can't connect to the server (Minecraft can't find it). I've done some portforwarding but is there more to it (because I'm running this in Docker)?

Last edited:
How do I get it running?
I've configured the serversettings in Minecraft to use port: 25575 (19132 was entered here as default).
This port (and 25565) is portforwarded to my NAS (TCP).
Found a guide on youtube using port 19132 but I can't follow the guide cause it won't allow me to use both udp/tcp for that port in the Docker UI... It's a mess really..
Ideas anyone?

This stuff is for my kids and they want their pals to be able to connect so, yes, It's on the router.
I've been messing around with this alot so.. I'm not sure about the values anywhere now.