SMB: Name vs IP speed difference copying files Windows???

Currently reading
SMB: Name vs IP speed difference copying files Windows???

NAS
DS1621+, DS1621+, DS918
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
I am no network engineer, so I dont know if this is normal or not, but this is absolutely repeatable for me give or take a few mbs/sec...
I am getting different speeds copying files over the network on my Windows machines to my Nas. If I use \\IP\folder its a faster transfer by about double! vs \\syno\folder

Scenario 1:
In windows, open network, open icon for SYNONAS, open temp shared folder, now drag and drop 1.1gb file.. I get a maximum transfer of 60mb/sec (\\synonas\temp)

Scenario 2:
Change location in windows explorer to direct ip (\\192.168.1.100\temp) I get 110mb/sec.

So if the window shows a direct ip in the location, the speed is nearly doubled. If it show synonas its about half speed...? any clue? This is a repeatable experiment. I get similar results from different pcs on the lan, different files, and the results almost always the same, give or take a few mbs/sec. Obvious synonas and 192.168.1.100 are the same device, the ports are not in a bond, its all running through a 24 port gigabit switch, and I can immediately see a speed difference by using the device name vs its ip.

The second is using NetBIOS. You will find a lot of articles of how can be disabled. Google it.

You may also try the FQDN: synonas.your domain, it must be equal to the IP address.

Sorry, I dont understand, which is why I posted the question... Clean my DNS area? Try FQDN?
I did try adding the local ip to host file and flushed dns, no change.
I attached some pics, where you can see if the "name" is in the address bar the speed is around 60mb, but if I change it to the ip/temp the speed is over 100mb
ds3622.png
198.png
179.png

Try to disable NetBIOS in WINS settings and tell us how it goes: Disable NetBIOS in Windows networks