So are only shared folders mountable as drives?

Currently reading
So are only shared folders mountable as drives?

NAS
DS220+
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Im very new to NAS and slow learner. And I know, its a rather blunt and bit silly of a question isn't it. Every guide and manual says you need to create shared folders in order to work the NAS, so in a way the answer is right there.
But just so I can finally rule it out in my head; you can't mount Volumes directly in the operating system of your computer, right?

I know in a way it doesn't really matter but it just looks so cluttered that to have to create so many levels before you have something that can function as a network and have it be a folder no less.

I'm on a mac.

You already gave the answer: " I'm on a mac"
The system of mounting should work on each and every OS, mac, Windows, linux,.. So it needs to be de-coupled from the OS and hosted file system. That is the main reason.

Of course, makes all the sense in the world now actually.
I appreciate the prompt and forward clarifying.

Cheers!

..In the Windows world, you map a network drive - assigning a local drive letter on the PC to an externally attached network resource, in this case it would be by your NAS name\shared folder or by it's IP address\shared folder name, like this:

\\olfactorybasicnas\video
\\192.168.1.2\video

You would replace the above IP address with the address of the NAS.

I'm sure Apple OS has a similar feature

\\olfactorybasicnas\video
\\192.168.1.2\video

I'm sure Apple OS has a similar feature